Mt. Pico de Loro Day Hike | Sulit na Sulit!

I could’ve missed half of my life already if ever I didn’t make it on this climb! Whew! Good thing I still managed to join even if it was just a day hike. It was supposedly a 2-day itinerary though but I decided to join those who will go on a day-hike since I had an important appointment the next day.

1000834_10201633221620175_606230108_n971677_10201633240100637_1115881403_n

The group assembled at McDonald’s Baclaran where the mini bus that we rented was waiting, we boarded at around 0700 and arrived at DENR at 1100. It was a perfect weather I guess for the whole group, the sky was clear and the lush forest is enough to provide shade for the hikers.Β  I went along with the lead trail since we were targeting to be back by 3PM. Rose, Marc, and his guest Lorna will also go on a dayhike.

The Lead Group

The Lead Group

We passed through mini-rivers like this one

We passed through mini-rivers like this one

The whole trek was gradual and very shady, which I really really love! It is highly recommended for first timers seeking adventure in mountain climbing. There were markers telling you which way to go. We have Sir Al, our VP who also went along with us. The trail got mini-rivers but not that high enough to reach the brim of your shoes. I would suggest wearing a waterproof pair in here with good traction underneath since the the trail was also a bit muddy and could turn slippery when it rains.

934604_10201633313302467_1569337009_n

Upon reaching the campsite

Exploring with Rose

Exploring with Rose

We arrived at the campsite at around 1400 then had lunch. It then rained for about 15minutes and got really foggy. We can barely see the view around. We waited for some clearing before taking photos. A few minutes then, we took advantage of the clearing after it rained.

Waiting for some clearing

Waiting for some clearing

Finally!

Finally!

The first one was still foggy so I opted for another shot with the famous Pico de Loro peak. If you’ve noticed, Pico de Loro means parrot’s beak because its peak resembles like the beak of a Big Parrot. It was indeed very visible at a certain angle

At the summit of Pico de Loro

At the summit of Pico de Loro

We then headed our way to the summit which was I guess just a 10-15minute assault. The trail on the way up was a bit steep but is not that of a challenge anymore especially if you’re already used into hiking. From here you will see the famous centerpiece monolith or what they call as the “Parrot’s Beak”. I was with Rose, my trail buddy for this climb, when we were contemplating on whether we should climb the Parrot’s Beak or not. Sir Tristan who was also with us encouraged us to climb it and told us that it does look difficult but it’s really not. Doc Jodes who was with him decided to climb it so we stayed on where we were and waited so we could take a picture of him. As soon as I saw him up there, I got this inkling to climb it as well and have that awesome once in a lifetime photo opportunity. So when I saw a different group of people lining up, I lined up as well. I honestly didn’t know where that “lakas ng loob” was coming from. Haha πŸ˜€

Waiting for my turn

Waiting for my turn

This is it!

This is it!

A few minutes while waiting for the people lining up before me, I saw Rose and Sir Tristan already at my back lining up as well. This time, I got the full confidence to climb it since I know there will be people at my back to guide me on my way up. Haha. It was a difficult ascend since you have to use your rock climbing and rope skills in here, a challenge for me even during our training. You have to do free climbing, with only your hands and feet, and no harness on. Once you’ve passed the first portion which was really diffult, the rest would be easier but be VERY EXTRA careful because it’s gonna be a sheer drop if ever you fail to.

Rose and I at the Parrot’s Beak

Not climbing the “Parrot’s Beak” is like attending a party and missing the best part of it. The feeling was really magnificent I can’t even put it into words. The 360 degree view was spectacular and breathtaking as if you just conquered the world! For someone who just stepped into this mountain for the first time, it was really fantastic! The descend was also as equally difficult since you’ll be fighting with gravity. You have to pass through the same way you went up.

With our souvenir shirts

We then left the campsite at around 1530 and arrived at the DENR office at 1800. I bought a souvenir shirt which resembles a victorious man at the top of the Parrot’s Beak. Rose bought hers way back when she went here a year ago. We were blessed to have Marc with us since he brought his car with him which we used on our way back. We dropped by in one of the restaurant in Pasay which I forgot the name already. Haha πŸ™‚

The Kikay Mountaineer at the Monolith!

The Kikay Mountaineer at the Monolith!

I’m declaring that this is one of those climbs that I will definitely remember in my entire life. The experience was unfathomably surreal, my senses couldn’t grasp. I highly recommend this to anyone who is planning to organize a fun climb with newbies. It was a great experience and I would DEFINITELY go back given the chance. Congratulations to Bryan Angelo Allayban for a very well organized climb! Go Batch Trese! πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Mt. Pico de Loro Day Hike | Sulit na Sulit!

  1. Pingback: My Year End Review | 10 Hikes for 2013 | The Kikay Mountaineer

Leave a Reply

