The Kikay Mountaineer’s Year End Review | 10 Hikes for 2013

2013 New Year status

2013 New Year status

2013 is indeed a BIG year for me as how I declared it to happen before it started. I remember putting the above as my status in Facebook last December 31, 2012. True enough, and I do believe now that there is indeed power in our words.Β That whenever we declare things and believe that they’re gonna happen, they will really do. I had a lot of personal life breakthroughs in all aspects and jumped into new things I’ve never done before. One of which is the world of mountaineering which I got into just early this year.

Summing them all up, I’m surprised that I’ve accomplished 10 incredible hikes just for this year! Wow! And they were all fantastic and memorable to me. Each climb left marks in my heart that changed me to the person I am right now. I wanna thank each and every person who supported me in this new found hobby. And of course, God, who enabled me to do all these things. I just can’t claim these with my own strength knowing my frail thin body. It was You! πŸ™‚

*You may click on the links below for the whole story

1.) Mt.Buntis and Mt. Nagpatong | First Hike (Cavite, Feb 2013)

This was our first minor training climb wherein I was able to get to know more of Batch Trese. It was a trial climb for me since it was also my first “formal” hike. I enjoyed this climb and got into a lot of firsts. I remember going home smiling and feeling excited for my upcoming climbs.

Image

Mt. Buntis and Mt. Nagpatong

2.) Mt. Tapulao | First Major Climb (Zambales, Apr 2013)

This mountain is indeed VERY memorable to me. It was my first major climb and second hike. I remember those moments wherein every step into its big rocks and boulders hurts that even took its toll on both my knees. I descended with a pair of shoes that already got packaging tapes around because they got worn out. Haha! I truly believe that it was just through the grace of God on how I survived this mountain. Nevertheless, at its 6/9 difficulty, it made me stronger and my confidence got boosted for my next climbs.

Mt. Tapulao

Mt. Tapulao

3.) Mt. Pico de Loro | Sulit na Sulit! (Cavite, Jul 2013)*Β 

A climb that I heartily enjoyed and felt really accomplished after climbing its famous Monolith. I just love every moment that I spent in this mountain.

Mt. Pico de Loro

Mt. Pico de Loro

4.) Mt. Batulao | With Church friends (Batangas, August 2013)

It was my first time to climb with my church friends. Mt. Batulao is a very beautiful and scenic mountain. Its silhouette is magnificent all throughout and the green open trail gives you that feeling of peace and tranquility.

Mt. Batulao

Mt. Batulao

5.) Mt. Cinco Picos | Hike and Dive (Zambales, Sep 2013)*

The climb which got me excited because of its swimming sidetrip. We went through a long trek under the scorching heat of the sun but rewarded us with natural pools and rivers along the trail.

Mt. Cinco Picos

Mt. Cinco Picos

6.) Mt. Manalmon | Spelunking at it Finest (Bulacan, Sep 2013)*

Not really a climb but more of a spelunking adventure that was thrilling and exciting! Lush forest looms from the summit of the mountain overlooking Mt. Gola and the Madlum River.

Mt. Manalmon

Mt. Manalmon

7.) Mt. Arayat Traverse | Walk in the Park (Pampanga, Oct 2013)*

Challenging and rewarding Arayat! Very technical and got difficult trails ahead. We passed through steep assaults and difficult descends.

Mt. Arayat

Mt. Arayat

8.) Mt. Ugu | The Redemption (Benguet, Nov 2013) Day1 Β  Day2

First time on a Cordillera mountain. I got fascinated by the spectacular views that this mountain offered.

Mt. Ugu

Mt. Ugu

9.) Mt. Pulag via Akiki | The Unrequited Love (Benguet, Dec 2013)*

My dream mountain for the year. Disappointed though that I didn’t get to see its famous sunrise and sea of clouds. But nevertheless, a promise sealed by a rainbow reminded me that I’ll get to see them at the right time. πŸ™‚

Mt. Pulag via Akiki

Mt. Pulag via Akiki

10.) Mt. Manabu | Lost but Found (Batangas, Dec 2013)*

My last climb for the year and Mhei’s birthday climb. It was totally just fun and no pressure at all. I came up with an article that relates love to mountain climbing because most of our conversations that time were all boiled down to this topic. Haha!

Mt. Manabu

Mt. Manabu

So there you go! Along with these hikes, I also got into a lot of beach travels which I also adorably love. I wasn’t able to blog them though but I’m hoping to find time to put all of them into writing. This blog is another major breakthrough for me which I just started in the middle of the year. 2 months after I’ve announced it and it’s already hitting almost 2000 views! I’m not sure though if it’s a big number but I do really am grateful for all of you guys for patronizing my blog. I’ve always been in the pursuit to inspire people through my life experiences.

For the year 2014, I do believe that it’s gonna be a lot more bigger and better. More mountains to hike, more places to explore, more people to meet, and more learnings alongside! There would be more adventures ahead of me in all aspects (personal, family, social life, career, and lovelife πŸ˜‰ ). 2014 would be another blessed year for me and for my family. I’m letting and trusting God, the author of my life, to maneuver His steering wheel and lead me according to His good, pleasing, and perfect will. πŸ™‚

I also encourage you, my dear reader, to declare through words how you wanted your 2014 to happen. Feel free to comment below! Thanks for dropping by! Happy New Year!!! πŸ™‚

One thought on “The Kikay Mountaineer’s Year End Review | 10 Hikes for 2013

Leave a Reply

